Manage projects and the file system

Contents[Hide]

1. Overview

This article shows you how to manage projects and their files as an administrator in Dundas BI.

All of your work items in Dundas BI, such as data cubes and dashboards, are treated as files within the Dundas BI file system. A project lets you organize related files in Dundas BI and collaborate with other users who have access to the same project. See Working with projects for more details.

2. Add a new project

Administrators can add new projects in Dundas BI from the main menu on the left.

Create a new project at any time by clicking Projects, and then Add New... from the list of projects along the top.

Create a new project from the main menu
Create a new project from the main menu

You can also add a new project from the toolbar of the Projects page in Administration, shown in the next section.

In the Create a New Project dialog, type a name for the new project and set the Initial Project Privileges:

  • Private – After the project is created, only the creator will have access to it.
  • Public – After the project is created, the Everyone group will have Read access to it.
  • Custom – After the project is created, the project's Security dialog will open.

Enter a name for the new project
Enter a name for the new project

If you're using multi-tenancy and have existing tenants, you can choose a tenant to be associated with the new project.

Select the Active Project option if you also want the new project to be set as the active/current project after submitting the dialog, otherwise you and other users with access can select it from the main menu.

3. Manage projects

You can manage existing projects from the Administration area. Click Admin in the main menu to navigate there.

Click Admin in the main menu
Click Admin in the main menu

Under Projects / File System, click to go to Projects.

Selecting a project in the Projects screen
Selecting a project in the Projects screen

Click to select a project and choose from the options shown in the toolbar:

  • To view or modify the settings for a project in the list, including its name, tooltip description, and security privileges, click Edit in the toolbar to open the Properties dialog.

  • Make a copy of an existing project by clicking Duplicate Project in the toolbar. You'll be asked to enter a new name for the copy and the Initial Project Privileges. The privileges dropdown provides the same options as for new projects, except that you can also choose Copy from source project to continue using the same security privileges in the new duplicate project.

    Duplicate a project
    Duplicate a project

  • Click Maintain Project in the toolbar to view, edit, and delete unused entities in the project.

  • To delete a project, click Delete in the toolbar and then confirm the operation. Note that the built-in <GLOBAL> project cannot be deleted.

Tip
You can also publish content from one project to another rather than duplicating it.

Administrators can also access several of these options whenever right-clicking a project in any file explorer throughout the application, including in Open dialogs and the Explore window.

3.1. User projects

The list of projects in the Projects screen does not include each user's personal project (named 'My Project'). To access another user's personal project, edit the user's account, scroll down, and click the button for their project.

Tip
To prevent a user project from being automatically created for each user when they first log on, change the Create User Projects Automatically configuration setting.

4. Using the file explorer

Under Projects / File System, the File Explorer option lets administrators navigate Dundas BI projects and manage the files and folders they contain. It provides administrators the same options as the Explore window but shows all projects at once.

File Explorer
File Explorer

You can use either the File Explorer or the Explore window to:

  • Right-click on an individual file or folder to edit or publish, manage check out status, cut/copy/paste between folders, create new folders, or edit properties such as security privileges.
  • Search for files by typing in search terms or by entering the file ID (e.g., if provided in an error message).
  • Use the toolbar to check or uncheck all items, or apply a batch operation on selected files, such as check in, check out, transfer check out, publish, and delete.

Depending on their security privileges, non-administrator users can also perform most of these operations from their Explore window within their current project.

Administrators have a Transfer Check Out option when another user has a file checked out. If that user is unavailable, for example, you can transfer their changes to your account and either check in or undo their changes to allow someone else to check out the file.

5. Managing data cubes

Under Projects / File System, click Data Cubes to manage data cubes and especially their storage options and build status.

Data Cubes screen
Data Cubes screen

Data cubes are listed by name and filtered by the Projects dropdown, which you can use to switch between projects or to view all of them at once. You can also view and filter by the storage job status for data cubes using warehouse or in-memory storage (as indicated by their icons).

Click to select a data cube to choose from options in the toolbar:

  • You can quickly change the cube's Storage Type. For warehouse or in-memory storage, you'll be given the option to automatically build other cubes that it references directly via Data Cube transforms.
  • Access the data cube's References, especially to find data cubes that reference each other or are dependencies, either directly or indirectly. This is the same dialog you can access from each file's Properties.
  • For data cubes using a storage option, you can schedule, run, cancel, or disable its storage job, or navigate to its full job details page.

If you are managing a multi-tenant instance, the Tenant Filter field will be available on this screen. Set it to manage data cubes created by a tenant's users, or to view and edit optional separate schedules for each tenant for a data cube based on tenant overrides rather than use a single shared schedule.

5.1. Batching

When you have multiple data cubes that you want to build all at once, click Batching in the toolbar to be able to select multiple data cubes using checkboxes along the left.

Batching data cube storage
Batching data cube storage

If you have a particular order in mind for which data cubes should build first, click the individual checkboxes to select them in that order, and their sequence will then be indicated in the Order column. You can build the selected cubes immediately by clicking Run in the toolbar.

You can also set up scheduled builds for the selected cubes, optionally including references. With one or more cubes selected, click Storage Type and choose from Warehouse or In-Memory storage. The Schedule Rule dialog will appear just like it does for individual data cubes, but in this case applies to multiple. After submitting this dialog, you will be given the option to automatically build directly-referenced data cubes at the same time.

Option to automatically build referenced data cubes
Option to automatically build referenced data cubes

Setting up a batched storage job like this creates a new sequence type job that builds storage for multiple cubes at once. Now when you view the schedule and build status for these cubes, or navigate to their job details, it will be for this sequence storage job.

Note
Sequence jobs are not maintained when copying or publishing the data cubes, and will need to be recreated for the copies.

6. See also

Dundas Data Visualization, Inc.
500-250 Ferrand Drive
Toronto, ON, Canada
M3C 3G8

North America: 1.800.463.1492
International: 1.416.467.5100

Dundas Support Hours:
Phone: 9am-6pm, ET, Mon-Fri
Email: 7am-6pm, ET, Mon-Fri