File and folder properties

Contents[Hide]

1. Overview

The Properties dialog lets you view and edit the properties associated with a selected file or folder. You can view the references to and from this file, modify the security settings for the file, and roll back to a previous version in the revision history.

2. Launching the Properties dialog

To launch the Properties dialog, select a file or folder when opening a file from the main menu, or from the Explore window. Right-click (or long-tap) and select Properties from the context menu that appears.

Launching the Properties dialog for a data cube
Launching the Properties dialog for a data cube

3. Properties you can view and edit

The Properties dialog lets you view and edit the following properties of a file or folder.

  • File Name - Rename the file or folder.
  • Description - Add your own descriptive text for this file or folder.
  • Tags - Add tag words to help categorize and organize your files.

View and edit properties of a data cube
View and edit properties of a data cube

3.1. Using tags

To add a tag to a file, just type a word in the Tags box and press ENTER or SPACE. You can also use the auto-complete menu that appears as you type to select an existing tag in the system. You can remove a tag by clicking the x button beside the tag.

Add tags to a dashboard
Add tags to a dashboard

Once you've added tags to a file, you can search for the file in the main menu, in the Explore window or the admin File Explorer by typing the tag.

4. Read-only properties

Scroll down in the Properties dialog to see various read-only properties of a file or folder:

  • ID
  • Location
  • Type
  • Sub Type
  • Created By
  • Created Time
  • Last Modified Time
  • Checked Out To

The ID property is needed when writing scripts that reference items such as a metric set or dashboard.

Read-only properties of a data cube
Read-only properties of a data cube

5. Revision history

Revision history is the version control mechanism built-in to Dundas BI. Scroll all the way down in the Properties dialog, and then click Revision history.

The Revision History dialog lists all of the revisions or changes that happened to this file or folder. Each revision corresponds to a check in by a specific account, or an event such as the initial file creation.

Revision history
Revision history

5.1. Roll back to a previous revision

From the Revision History dialog, you can roll back the file to a previous revision by clicking the corresponding button in the Roll Back column. This is useful if, for example, you are not happy with recent changes made to a dashboard and you want to revert it to an earlier state.

First ensure the file (e.g., dashboard) is checked out. You can do this from the toolbar when editing it, or by right-clicking the file and choosing Check Out.

In the revision history, click the Roll Back button corresponding to the revision you want to go back to.

New revision added corresponding to roll back
New revision added corresponding to roll back

The current file will be updated with the contents of the chosen revision and then checked in automatically. This will create a new revision for the file.

6. References to and from the file

Scroll all the way down in the Properties dialog, and then click References to see a list of other items that reference (i.e., have a dependency on) the current file, and items that the current file itself references (i.e., references by this file).

References dialog for a data cube
References dialog for a data cube

6.1. Show Recursive References

By default, only direct references to and from the current file (e.g., data cube) are shown. If you want to see all references (including references to references), select the Show Recursive References option. For example, use this option to find out what data connectors are ultimately being used by a dashboard.

7. Security privileges on the file or folder

To set security privileges on the file or folder, scroll all the way down in the Properties dialog, and then click Security.

The Security dialog presents a list of accounts and groups. For each account or group, you can allow or deny various privileges (e.g., Read, Write, Delete).

Note
The Full Control privilege is automatically granted to the account that created that file, but can be removed afterward if required.

7.1. List of security privileges

PrivilegeDescriptionRemarks
Delete The privilege to delete a file.  
Execute The privilege to execute a file.

This privilege has to be granted on anything that acts as a data source:

  • The data cube used in a metric set or dashboard/view.
  • The data connector used in a data cube, metric set, or dashboard/view.
  • The database table, view, etc. composing the data connector.

For example: to use a metric set, the underlying data cube, data connector, and tables must have at least an Execute privilege.

Note
A manual select ignores the privileges on the native structure of a data connector (tables, views, etc.).

Full Control The privilege to fully control a file.

Full Control implies everything.

If this privilege is granted on a project, it automatically implies that the assignee of the privilege is a "project administrator" for that project. Project administrators implicitly have the Full Control privilege granted on anything contained in that project.

List Folder Contents The privilege to list all items in a folder. Read is implied by List Folder Contents.
Modify Folder The privilege to modify a folder's properties and create child items. Read is implied by Modify Folder.
Read The privilege to see a file and its contents. Execute is implied by Read.
Write The privilege to update the contents of a file. Read is implied by Write.

7.2. Add an account or group to the list

In order to give file or folder privileges to an account or group, you must add them to the security list. If you don't see the account or group in the list, click Add.

Add an account or group to the security list
Add an account or group to the security list

7.3. Give file privileges to an account or group

Select an account or group in the security list, and then set Allow or Deny for each privilege to the right.

Set file privileges for selected account
Set file privileges for selected account

Select the Inherit Privileges checkbox to inherit privileges from a parent file or folder.

Note
Deleting an account or group does not automatically remove privileges that were assigned on files or folders.

8. See also

Dundas Data Visualization, Inc.
500-250 Ferrand Drive
Toronto, ON, Canada
M3C 3G8

North America: 1.800.463.1492
International: 1.416.467.5100

Dundas Support Hours: 7am-6pm, ET, Mon-Fri