Using personalization

Contents[Hide]

1. Overview

Personalization is a feature in which view settings such as the state of filters are automatically saved and recalled for each non-administrator user viewing a dashboard, report, or another view.

2. Save personalization settings

When a user other than an administrator views a dashboard, report, or other view, after 10 seconds, personalization settings are automatically saved so that they can be recalled the next time the user views this same file (e.g., refreshes the browser). This is beneficial, for example, if the logon session times out while you are viewing a particular dashboard because the filter state of the dashboard will be preserved.

The personalization settings that are saved include the state of filters, whether you're using the full screen option, and generally any other option that is recorded when you share the dashboard as a link.

A message appears in the status bar whenever personalization settings are saved.

Personalization settings including the state of the member filter are saved on a timer
Personalization settings including the state of the member filter are saved on a timer

When you reload the dashboard the next time, you'll see that the filters are in the same state as they were in when the personalization was last saved.

Note
Personalization is not saved when a dashboard is checked out to you for editing. If you want to save changes made when viewing a checked-out dashboard, switch to edit mode and allow the changes to save.

3. Clear personalization settings

To clear your personalization settings (for all dashboards), go to your profile, scroll down, and click Clear Personalization

Clear your personalization settings
Clear your personalization settings

Reload a dashboard to see that the states of filters have been reset to default values.

4. Disable personalization on a view

The Store View Personalization privilege can be disabled on the dashboard or view by opening the Properties window with nothing selected (or with the canvas selected) and setting the Disabled Application Privileges property.

See Disable view functionality for more details.

5. Disable personalization for users (admin only)

Dundas BI administrators can disable the personalization privilege based on the user that's logged in.

To do this, go to the Admin screen and click Accounts or Groups under Account Service.

Edit an account or group and click Application Privileges. Locate the Store View Personalization privilege and select Deny from the drop-down menu.

Application privilege to enable or disable personalization for a user
Application privilege to enable or disable personalization for a user

For more information on privileges, see Application privileges.

6. Clear personalization for multiple users (admin only)

Administrators can use the API to clear saved personalization settings for all users, and/or for specific views (e.g., dashboards). You might wish to do this after making significant changes to your dashboards that you want your users to see in its original state, or if the data changes such that their personalization settings will no longer apply.

The ShortLinkService's deleteShortLinks method provides options for specifying which personalization to clear. The following example (JavaScript) clears personalization for a dashboard with the specified file system entry ID:

dundas.context.getService("ShortLinkService").deleteShortLinks({
    categoryId: dundas.constants.VIEW_PERSONALIZATION_SHORT_LINK_CATEGORY_ID,
    fileSystemEntryId: "66ecb30a-cc3a-4ecf-9961-c476247cde4b"
}).done(function () {
    console.log("Personalization cleared");
});

7. See also

Dundas Data Visualization, Inc.
500-250 Ferrand Drive
Toronto, ON, Canada
M3C 3G8

North America: 1.800.463.1492
International: 1.416.467.5100

Dundas Support Hours:
Phone: 9am-6pm, ET, Mon-Fri
Email: 7am-6pm, ET, Mon-Fri