Application privileges

Contents[Hide]

1. Overview

Application privileges control whether a user has access to certain application functionality, such as using the toolbar or context menu while working with dashboards and other views.

Dundas BI administrators can allow or deny application privileges when creating or editing a user account or group. In most cases, when a privilege is denied, it means the user can no longer see or access the corresponding user interface element (such as the toolbar, button, menu, or menu item). In addition, a denied privilege also means the user cannot exit or escape out of the related user interface mode. For example, if the Full Screen privilege is denied for a user, and that user receives a link to a full screen dashboard, then the user will not be able to exit full screen mode while viewing the dashboard.

Note that administrators have all privileges and cannot be denied any specific privilege.

Allow or deny application privileges when adding a new account
Allow or deny application privileges when adding a new account

2. List of privileges

PrivilegeDescription
Allow Default View Override Allows the user to override the default view indicated by administrators.
Change Data Allows the user to see the context menu options that change the data that's displayed. These include Drill Down, Drill Up and Change Level. This option is for views (dashboards, reports, slideshows, etc.).
Context Menu Allows the user to see the context menu (right-click or long-tap).
Contextual Measures Allows the user to define contextual measures as well as enter data for these measures.
Correct Measure Values Allows the user to enter public measure value corrections.
Create Tokens Provides the ability to create account-specific parameter tokens.
Data Analysis Panel Provides access to the Data Analysis Panel.
Data Cube In-Memory Storage Allows the user to configure a data cube for in-memory storage.
Data Cube Warehouse Storage Allows the user to configure a data cube for warehouse storage.
Data Input Allows the user to define warehouse tables and enter data for these structures.
Data Preview Show the Data Preview dockable window for views such as dashboards and reports, which includes performance statistics.
Edit Show the Edit option in the toolbar and context menus (including the Explore window).
Edit Copy for Analysis Show the Edit Copy for Analysis option in the toolbar and context menus.

Full Screen

Show the Full Screen option for views such as dashboards and reports.
Modify Data Show the Modify Data options including period over period, states, and formulas for a selected data visualization when editing views such as dashboards and reports.
Note Allows the user to add notes to data.
Notification Allows the user to create and manage notifications associated with their account.
Quick Access Properties Panel Allows the user to see the Quick Access Properties panel when editing views (dashboards, reports, slideshows, etc.) and metric sets.
Re-Visualize Show the Re-Visualize option in the toolbar and context menu for a selected data visualization.
Setup Interactions Show the Set Up Interactions option in the toolbar and context menu for a selected data visualization.
Share Show the Share option in the toolbar and context menu.
Sorting and Filtering Show the Sort and Filter options on visualizations (does not affect metric set sorting and filtering options if the user can edit them).
Store User UI Customizations Allows the application to automatically save the UI customizations for the user, such as the locations of dockable windows, or the toolbar settings on the Home page.
Store View Personalization Allow the saving of personalized settings such as the state of filters while viewing dashboards and other views.
Toolbar Show the toolbar for dashboards and other views. Does not apply to other toolbars such as for a full-screen metric set.
Unsafe Transform Access Allow the user to create data cubes using manual SQL, MDX, or Python, which may be unsafe.

3. Examples

3.1. Grant the Share privilege to all users

Note
The Everyone group implicitly contains all users of the system. Its membership cannot be changed, however you can still assign privileges and custom attributes to this group. All privileges allowed or denied on this group are inherited by all accounts or groups belonging to this group.

The example shown is using the Everyone group, but the same concept applies to any other group.

Go to the Admin screen, expand the Account Service category, and then click Groups.

Access admin functions from the main menu
Access admin functions from the main menu

On the Groups screen, under Actions, click the edit icon for the Everyone group.

On the Group Details dialog, click Application privileges and set the Share privilege to Allow.

Share privilege allowed for the Everyone group
Share privilege allowed for the Everyone group

Accounts or groups that are members of this group have the Share privilege allowed, and this is non-editable as it is inherited from the group.

New account with inherited privilege from
New account with inherited privilege from "Everyone" group

Tip
Click the information icon on the right to find out where the privilege is inherited from.

Result:

Account has Share privilege
Account has Share privilege

In the same way, set the account or group Share privilege to Deny to prevent them from seeing the related option.

Account does not have Share privilege
Account does not have Share privilege

4. See also

Dundas Data Visualization, Inc.
500-250 Ferrand Drive
Toronto, ON, Canada
M3C 3G8

North America: 1.800.463.1492
International: 1.416.467.5100

Dundas Support Hours: 7am-6pm, ET, Mon-Fri