Working with projects

Contents[Hide]

1. Overview

All of the work that you do in Dundas BI occurs within the context of a current or active project, which allows users to collaborate on the same dashboard or BI effort.

Current project in the Explore window
Current project in the Explore window

2. Built-in projects

2.1. Global project

Dundas BI includes a built-in project named <GLOBAL>. You generally use this project to store items such as static images, maps, diagrams, styles, and themes. Putting these items in the global project centralizes them and makes it easy to share them with other users across projects.

2.2. My Project

Every user in Dundas BI also gets a personal project named My Project. This is the current project when you first log in to Dundas BI. You are free to use My Project as your own workspace to create dashboards and other items for prototyping or quick analysis. But for actual production work, you'll probably want to use other projects that have been created specifically for that purpose.

By default, no one else has access to your personal project. However, you can use the Share option in the Dundas BI toolbar to give other users the ability to view a dashboard or report from your personal project. The permissions on the project can also be changed to grant other users or groups access.

3. Switch to another project

To change the current project in Dundas BI, go to the main menu, click Projects, and then click the project you want from the toolbar.

Changing the current project
Changing the current project

4. Shared folders

When you install Dundas BI, a set of built-in maps, styles, and themes are included as part of the GLOBAL project. You can access these built-in items by switching to the GLOBAL project or by navigating into Shared folders which can be thought of as shortcuts to the GLOBAL project.

Built-in maps from the GLOBAL project
Built-in maps from the GLOBAL project

For example, every project other than GLOBAL has a Shared folder under Maps, which is a shortcut to the corresponding Maps folder in the GLOBAL project. There are also shared folders for other types of project items including data connectors, data cubes, dashboards, images, styles, and themes. So you don't actually need to switch to the GLOBAL project to access these shared items.

Access the same maps from a project's Shared folder
Access the same maps from a project's Shared folder

5. Create new projects

Dundas BI administrators have the ability to create new projects and configure permissions so that only certain users or groups have access to them. For example, you can have a project that is reserved for the Human Resources department only.

In general, you will want to set up new projects for collaboration or production efforts rather than use the global or personal projects.

You can add a new project or manage existing projects from the Admin screen.

Administrators can create new projects
Administrators can create new projects

Or, click Add New from the Projects toolbar to create a new project.

Add a new project from the Projects toolbar
Add a new project from the Projects toolbar

In the Create a New Project dialog, type a name for the new project.

Add a new project from the Projects toolbar
Add a new project from the Projects toolbar

Select the Active Project option if you want the new project to be set as the active/current project after it has been created.

By default, the Everyone group will be given Read access to the new project. If you want to change this, select the Configure Permissions option. This will open the Security dialog once the project has been created, letting you adjust the privileges on the new project.

Configure security privileges for the new project
Configure security privileges for the new project

6. Duplicate an existing project

Right-click (or long-tap) on the active project in the Explore window to access a number of different options. For non-personal projects, you'll see the Duplicate Project option which lets you make a copy or clone of the active project (and save it under a new name).

Duplicate the project
Duplicate the project

You'll be asked to enter a new name for the copy.

Enter a unique name for the copy
Enter a unique name for the copy

By default, the Everyone group will be given Read access to the copy of the project. If you want to change this, select the Configure Permissions option. This will open the Security dialog once the project has been copied, letting you adjust the privileges on the new project.

After the duplication, go to the Projects toolbar to switch to the copied project.

7. Publish a project or file

Publishing lets you copy the contents of a source project or file (such as a dashboard or data cube) to a target project, with the option to also copy referenced files so that dependencies are maintained.

For example, you can set up a source project for testing, staging, or development work. Once you are happy with the resulting dashboards, you can publish them to a production project. Publishing allows you to use a single Dundas BI instance for both testing/development and production purposes.

To publish a project or file, go to the Explore window and right-click (or long-tap) on the project/file. From the menu, select Publish.

Publish a dashboard
Publish a dashboard

In the Publish dialog, select the target/destination project.

Expand the Options section and enable the options you want:

  • Allow checked out items in the source project to be published.
  • Ignore/suppress warning messages.
  • Copy referenced/dependent items within the same source project.

Click Submit to begin publishing.

Choose a destination project and select publishing options
Choose a destination project and select publishing options

7.1. Publish an item to a Project that contains an item with the same name

If you are publishing an item to another project for the first time, then the item will be copied and either get a name with the suffix 1, or if the name ends in a number, this number will increment by one.

If you are publishing to the same project for more than one time, then the previously published item in the target project will be overwritten by the new published item.

Note
The checkbox 'Ignore Warnings' has to be checked in order to publish an item to another project that already includes an item with the same name.

8. See also

 

Dundas Data Visualization, Inc.
500-250 Ferrand Drive
Toronto, ON, Canada
M3C 3G8

North America: 1.800.463.1492
International: 1.416.467.5100

Dundas Support Hours: 7am-6pm, ET, Mon-Fri