Disable view functionality

Contents[Hide]

1. Overview

By default, the full application functionality is enabled and users with the right privileges can use it. Some of the functionality, such as the ability to use the context menu, can be disabled on the view or adapter level. This means that even if the user has this privilege enabled on their account, they will not be able to utilize it on the specific dashboard, report, or scorecard, and the specific data visualization.

Note
This functionality can only be used to disable active application privileges. To grant additional privileges to users, see the example in the article List of application privileges.

2. Disable application privileges on the dashboard

With nothing selected on the dashboard (or report), open the Properties panel.

In the Features section, click the plus under Disabled Application Privileges.

Disabled Application Privileges on the dashboard
Disabled Application Privileges on the dashboard

Select all the privileges you want to disable on this dashboard.

Select the privileges to disable on the dashboard
Select the privileges to disable on the dashboard

3. Disable application privileges on the adapter

Select a data visualization and open the Properties panel.

In the Features section, click the plus under Disabled Application Privileges.

Disabled Application Privileges on the data visualization
Disabled Application Privileges on the data visualization

Select all the privileges you want to disable on this visualization.

Select the privileges to disable on the data visualization
Select the privileges to disable on the data visualization

Note
You are indicating which privileges to disable on this specific data visualization on this specific dashboard. This is not a on the metric set level and will not be transferred to other uses of the same metric set.

4. Limit Re-Visualize options

Select a data visualization and open the Properties panel.

In the Features section, click the plus under Allowed Re-Visualizing Options.

Allowed Re-Visualizing Options
Allowed Re-Visualizing Options

Select all the visualization options you want to be available for viewers.

Select the allowed visualization options
Select the allowed visualization options

Note
Enabling this option will remove all of the Recommended visualizations, even if you select all of the visualizations. However, similar to the option Disable Application Privileges, this will affect only this specific data visualization on this specific dashboard, and will not transfer to other uses of the same metric set.

To test, right-click the data visualization and select Re-Visualize.

Result
Result

 

5. See also

Dundas Data Visualization, Inc.
500-250 Ferrand Drive
Toronto, ON, Canada
M3C 3G8

North America: 1.800.463.1492
International: 1.416.467.5100

Dundas Support Hours: 7am-6pm, ET, Mon-Fri