Check in, check out, and auto saving

Contents[Hide]

1. Overview

To facilitate collaboration on projects, Dundas BI uses a check in / check out model with respect to items such as data connectors, data cubes, dashboards and more.

The workflow is generally as follows:

  • Check out an item
  • Edit the item and apply your changes
  • Check in the item so others can see your changes

You might have noticed there is no Save button in the Dundas BI toolbar. That's because Dundas BI saves your work automatically so you don't need to be worried about losing your changes. You still need to check in your work though so others can see it too.

2. Check out an item

To check out an item such as a time dimension for editing, go to the EXPLORE window, right-click over your item, and then click Check Out.

Check out a time dimension for editing
Check out a time dimension for editing

When you check out an item, you are basically reserving the item for editing by yourself only.

The item now appears with a green checkmark icon which indicates it is checked out to you.

Next, right-click over the item and select Edit in order to begin modifying the checked out item.

Edit the item after check out
Edit the item after check out

If you edit an item such as a dashboard without checking it out first, you can still do a check out from the toolbar, or just click on the dashboard canvas for an automatic check out.

Check out from the toolbar
Check out from the toolbar

2.1. Item is already checked out

If an item is already checked out by another user, the item will appear with a red 'minus' icon.

Item is already checked out to another user
Item is already checked out to another user

You'll need to wait for the other user to check the item back in, or undo the check out.

3. Auto saving

While editing a dashboard or other item in Dundas BI, your changes are automatically saved as needed.

The status bar at the bottom displays a message whenever Dundas BI has performed an auto-save operation.

Status bar indicates dashboard was auto-saved
Status bar indicates dashboard was auto-saved

4. Check in an item

Once you are done with your changes, right-click over the item in the EXPLORE window, and then click Check In.

Check in an item
Check in an item

In the Check In dialog, optionally enter a comment and then click Submit.

Check In dialog
Check In dialog

You can also check in an item from the toolbar.

Check in from the toolbar
Check in from the toolbar

Note
If you created a new item but have not checked it in for the first time, other users will not be able to see that item.

5. Undo a check out

If you aren't happy with the changes you made to an item, you can undo the check out.

This will discard all of your changes since you checked out the item for editing, and the item won't be checked out to you anymore afterwards.

You can undo a check out from the toolbar or the right-click menu in the EXPLORE window.

Undo a check out
Undo a check out

6. See also

Dundas Data Visualization, Inc.
500-250 Ferrand Drive
Toronto, ON, Canada
M3C 3G8

North America: 1.800.463.1492
International: 1.416.467.5100

Dundas Support Hours: 7am-6pm, ET, Mon-Fri